Tonda Shortridge Harman

Profile Updated: March 15, 2010
Residing In: Vinton, VA USA
Spouse/Partner: Barry Harman
Occupation: Homemaker
Children: Ethan, age 17, a junior at Staunton River High School, Moneta Va and a freshman in the early
college More…program at Central Va Community College in Bedford. Nolan,age 15, a freshman at Staunton River High School, Moneta Va, and Devan, age 10 and a student at Goodview elementary school, Goodview VA. Ethan works as a lifeguard at the YMCA on Kirk Ave.

I went to Emory and Henry College from 1980-1982, then transfred to Radford University from 1982-1985 and got my degree in Music Therapy with a minor in psychology. I interned at William S. Hall Psychiatric Institute, Columbia SC in 1985. I came back to Roanoke and worked as a recreation/music therapist with Roanoke memorial Hospitals. . I went back to RU in 1987 when offered a graduate assistantship to teach an undergraduate clinical class and get my Masters. Upon leaving there I worked with Total Action against Poverty in Roanoke as a youth substane abuse counselor in conjunction with Roanoke City courts. I later moved to southwest Va to work at Brookside Psychiatric Intitute. I was the activity therapist and one of the case managers for this small hospital based out of San Diego CA. While working here I was introduced to my husband through a coworker and after marrying in 1989 we moved to Abingdon VA. I later went to work with Highlands Mental Health Services in Abingdon, Va as an outpatient counselor. I briefly left the mental health field to work as an elementary/ middle school music education teacher during 1987-88. I returned the following year to psychiatric/substance working an an adjunctive therapy supervisor at Woodridge Psychiatric Institute in Johnson City, TN. I oversaw music, art, recreation and horticulture therapies programs in a private hospital. My oldest son was born, and my husband was traveling out ot town often, and situation had it that after my oldest was a year old, I decided to stop working. That's where I am now. I'm a stay at home mom raising three boys. I have worked part time through the years, usually playng piano or organ for churches, teaching piano, or leading childrens choirs.

Tonda's Latest Interactions

Hide Comments
Mar 07, 2021 at 4:33 AM
Mar 07, 2020 at 4:36 AM
Mar 07, 2019 at 4:33 AM
Mar 07, 2018 at 4:33 AM
Mar 07, 2017 at 4:33 AM
Mar 07, 2016 at 4:33 AM
Mar 07, 2015 at 4:33 AM
Hide Comments
Posted: Dec 17, 2013 at 12:54 AM
Posted: Dec 17, 2013 at 12:54 AM